Strawberry and Mango Smoothie

What’s the best way to start your morning? Lots of coffee of course. But one cannot live on coffee alone (damn it!) so we must find a way to put some nutrients on our bodies. I think every health and fitness magazine out there lists “Don’t skip breakfast” as a major NOT if you want to successfully lose weight. If you are anything like me, your morning routine has been carefully timed and calculated to maximize every second and get as much sleep as possible. Do I get up NOW or do I sleep in 10 more minutes and don’t wash my hair and up we go in a ponytail? Ponytail it is! Getting up early enough to make eggs or whatever else you are supposed to eat in the morning is just not very appealing to me. So I opt for the next best alternative which is smoothies.

My smoothie kick started early 2013 and it has mostly continued until now. I bought a new blender and everything – that’s a story in itself. Some people prefer juicing but I just don’t find beets and carrot juice that tasty. I prefer fruit-based beverages. I am trying some new concoctions like this one with strawberries and mango chunks. This smoothie comes out pretty thick but it is also delicious and refreshing if you use all frozen fruit. I also think it looks pretty. But that’s just me.

IMG_20140702_084403Strawberry and Mango Smoothie

SERVES 1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup apple or orange juice
  • ½ cup plain yogurt
  • ½ frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup frozen mango chunks

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Drinks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment