Noodle Salad with Spicy Vinaigrette

Guess what, this weekend was a busy one bahhhhhh!!! That was me laughing because EVERY WEEKEND is the same around here so nothing new. Adrian had two baseball games; one win and one loss, there were movies to watch, parties to go to, picnics to attend, and oh yeah I had to mow the lawn. I went out on my sexy pink garden shoes and I looked over to the house next to me and my neighbor was also about to start mowing her lawn. We looked at each other, sighed, and started the dreaded process. Then it started pouring raining before either one of us finished. We both run away inside and that was that. So I am looking at an 3/4-mowed lawn. It is supposed to rain almost every day this week so it is going to stay like that for a while.

But BEFORE the rain today, we went to a picnic. It was a potluck. I have the hardest time thinking of good potluck food sometimes that will keep me from buying something premade from the store. Now I feel I have two good go-to meals to share with friends. One is the orzo Greek salad I have shared with you before. The second is this Noodle salad with Spicy vinaigrette inspired by The Lemon Bowl.  I really like Asian food but I am really not very good at making any of it. This recipe is very simple and it’s good to feed a crowd. I replaced the Soba noodles with whole wheat thing spaghetti and added edamame.  You could add some precooked chicken if you want to add some protein. Skip the chili paste to keep the dish mild. I am hungry already….

SpicyNoodles

Noodle Salad with Spicy Vinaigrette

(Adapted from The Lemon Bowl )
 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz whole wheat thin spaghetti
  • 2 cups green beans – trimmed and cut in 2 in. pieces
  • 1 medium carrot – grated
  • ½ cup scallions – minced
  • 1 cup edamame
  • 2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste

–For the vinaigrette —

  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce – low sodium
  • 1 tablespoon sugat
  • 1 tablespoon grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • ½ tablespoon sambal oelek  – optional

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Bring a large pot of salty water to boil and add the spaghetti. Cook according to package instructions adding the green beans 2 minutes before the end of cooking time.
  2. Drain noodles and green beans in a strainer and rinse with cold water to stop cooking process. (This keeps the beans bright green.)
  3. In the bottom of a medium bowl, whisk together the vinaigrette: lime juice, soy sauce, sugar, ginger, sesame oil and sambal oelek.
  4. Add the pasta and green beans to the bowl with the vinaigrette along with the grated carrot, scallions and black roasted sesame seeds. Toss well to coat and season with salt and pepper to taste before serving.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads, Vegetarian Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

