Overnight Oatmeal

The first recipe I want to share with you is a super easy breakfast. I recently discovered overnight oats. Probably the quickest breakfast option I can think of besides not eating anything. Ahhhh breakfast. The most neglected meal of the day but the most important one. I love breakfast food. Pancakes, waffles, roasted potatoes, eggs, bacon…my mouth is watering already so let me stop right there. Who has time to make any of these things if you get up before the sun is out? Most people struggle with getting any kind of breakfast in their system – let alone a healthy one. Do I snooze five more minutes or do I get up now and make a breakfast burrito? Snooze it is! It is especially harder when you have little munchies to take care of in the morning.

I personally enjoy breakfast and I always make sure to try eating something that is going to keep me full past 10 am. I tend to drink a lot of fruit smoothies in the morning when I am alone, but in the days my son is around I always take an extra step to make him something “bigger” because I know talking and socializing gets in the way of his lunch many times. Oatmeal is a go-to breakfast for us. I have never liked those instant oatmeal packages that come with weird flavors like strawberries and cream and what not. They are convenient, but they are also full of artificial sugars and preservatives – and honestly don’t taste very good. I always buy old fashioned oaks and cook them on the stove with either water or milk. Making old fashioned oatmeal takes about 5-10 minutes once the liquid of your choice has boiled. Do you know what’s even faster to make? Overnight oats. I had seen many recipes on different blogs about overnight steel cut oats or other types of oats but never thought about giving it a world. I think my mind has changed. They are so easy to make. I’ll show you.

Overnight Oatmeal
First mix oats and your choice of liquid using a 1:1 ratio; for example one cup of oats with one cup of milk. Your liquid can be water, milk, soy milk, almond milk, any milk.
Add your sweetener of choice to flavor the oatmeal. I like adding cinnamon to mine but you can add maple syrup, vanilla extract, honey, whatever you enjoy.

Next add nuts, coconut, dried fruit, chia seeds, etc. Oatmeal is very forgiving and it can take many forms. Creativity is welcomed here. Stir everything together, throw into a jar or other container with a lid and place overnight in the fridge. Then go to bed. It’s getting late.

In the morning you can add fresh ingredients like fruit, granola, or leave as it. Now this is pretty tasty cold right out of the fridge but if you prefer your oats warm you can quickly heat them up in the microwave for 30 seconds – 1 minute. And you are done! The advantage of overnight oats is that if you have time in the morning you can sit and eat them at home OR if you are running late, you can grab your container and head to work or whatever your morning takes you and eat this delicious bowl of goodness at your earliest convenient. Go ahead and try it and let me know what you think!

Aside | This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

